Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards

Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards

Each year, Hamilton hosts the Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards in Hollywood and China to highlight special behind-the-scenes artists for their individual impact on the film industry. Celebrities and film stars attending the red carpet events gladly give up the spotlight to cinematographers, prop masters, costume designers and screenwriters. The recognition of the offscreen talent is underlined with the presentation of the awards by the leading stars of the movie industry.

The award recipients are chosen based on the advice of professionals from each category, from the movies released during the year and/or presented at the prestigious festivals of Cannes, Toronto and Venice and the festival of the American Film Institute.

The categories are:



Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards, LA

In November 2014 the eighth annual Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards LA was staged at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles. Golden Globe and Emmy nominated actor Matthew Morrison led the ceremony alongside highly regarded actors, actresses and filmmakers who presented the awards to Hollywood’s finest offscreen talents. Presenters included Steve Carell, Channing Tatum, Emily Blunt, Patricia Arquette and Andy Serkis.

The winners stole the show when honored for their work on greatly anticipated films such as Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game and Foxcatcher.

In past years, Harrison Ford, Anne Hathaway, Christopher Nolan, Sean Penn, Lenny Kravitz, Amy Adams, Casey Affleck, Lucy Liu, Diane Kruger, Christoph Waltz, Ewan McGregor and Antonio Banderas rewarded their fellow filmmakers for their prestigious work behind the camera.


Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards, China

The third Hamilton Behind the Camera Awards, China took place in September 2014 at the Shanghai Centre Theatre and The Portman Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Shanghai.

Last year’s famous jury included Chairman Ann Hui, actor Wang Xueqi, photographer Yu Liwei, writer Mai Jia and art director Huo Tingxiao. A star performance by popular Taiwanese singer Qi Yu paid tribute to the winners.